Koh Tao in Thailand KohTaoZone the first guide in French on Koh Tao, diving, news, information and guides on the island, hotel, compare prices, and more

Stay informed | | | |
You are here: > > Restaurants

Restaurant in Koh Tao: where to eat?

Restaurants in Koh Tao...

  • Shell, crustacean and Pad Thai
  • Culture and the table
  • Small problems and how to address them
  • Boycott those who serve shark
  • Shell, crustacean and Pad Thai

    Eat the feet in the sand in the light of the lanterns, find a small bar typical with good food Thai not expensive, find a restaurant gourmet or even find a restaurant offering Wifi Internet for are small lunch in checkant his e-mail, this is what we propose in our selection of restaurant in Koh Tao.

    Koh Tao is an island so you will find a seafood products on almost all maps in the menus. The traditional Thai dishes are also on the as well as Western food which is part of almost all maps of the island. It should be noted that there are also some pizzerias and restaurants by French expatriate to Koh Tao.

    Some argue that to Koh Tao is difficult to find good restaurants. Those who research the authenticity of Thai food realize that Cook heads are sometimes by Thais, those who want simply to European food will sometimes use the toast when they order lost bread... and those who simply want a good pizza is sometimes find that it is not because a restaurant much pizza that it the facts well. Not panic, we'll explain everything you to avoid unpleasant surprises.

    The Culture of the table

    If Thai food can be excellent even in small restaurants, Thais are apparently not yet Hotel training and restoration experts, or in any case, they do not have the same reflexes than in us. It is cultural. Also the development of Koh Tao is still recent and find impeccable servers is not easy. But it is part of the local folklore, and cultural differences are more to smile than other things.

    Small troubles in the restaurant and how to address them

    Eat in a restaurant in Koh Tao and Thailand in General, can sometimes be a little confusing especially for us French who speak English and Spanish cows. Here is a list of small problems met in the restaurant and how to deal with.
    Me is not what I ordered: There are more times where it happened to us in the restaurant and the habit I found myself numerous times to play culinary performers. That is the reverse that is sometimes surprising. The French generally not speak English, and if you speak English with an accent too "good", then these are the Thai who might not understand more you. If you realize that communication is wrong, feel free to see what you want to order on the menu. The dishes are also sometimes numbered then you used numbers to communicate directly.

    Is me used red wine instead of white wine (or vice versa): If you ask in English of "red wine" you can end up with "white wine". This is a problem because the Thai accent pronounced "red" something like "white". One solution, show menu to the server (euse) because even if you try to say in Thai with a guide in your pocket, you will realize that Koh Tao in restaurants servers are often not Thai

    They drowned my pastis: For lovers of aniseed aperitifs, you will be delighted to discover that the Thai import some of Ricard or Pastis from home. And you may be upset by seeing they may drown you. It's called the emotional lift. In fact it is not too strange. If asked to serve a Raki, would you say the amount of water to be a Turk? It is a principle here is the same. So if some are beginning to be accustomed to some of our habits Franco-French, mistrust when you take a Ricard or Pastis (in moderation)

    I am serving the main course came before (or simultaneously): The Thai concept of not too flat or input resistance. Culturally they are rather used to having all the dishes together. This habit can be found at the restaurant. Specify So if you want the "starter" (input) they will serve you above all other dishes. Also if you order everything at once in a meal, it may be that you either serve appetizers along the entrance and the main course. The trick is to order appetizers first and then to be understood that the time server that you are, you will think about your menu. Anyway, if you want an order of service, let us know clearly

    The service is too slow or too fast, the dishes do not come together: We did not really trick to this problem. Let's say you get used to it. Some chefs have different synchronization techniques than at home. Whether you take your drink along with your neighbor takes its input from left and your right-hand neighbor takes his main course is not a problem for some restaurants. But hey .. ca is generally acceptable. Keep smiling, you're on vacation:)

    Boycott those who serve shark

    A kohtaozone we encourage you to boycott restaurants that serve shark in their menu. Sharks are endangered. In our selection we have chosen only restaurants not offering shark, at least during our last visit home

    Our selection of good food 2011
    (Being finished ...)

  • Selection: Thai Kitchen (eat cheap)
  • Selection: International Cuisine
  • Selection: Dream Decor
  • Selection: Thai Cuisine

    The "Chile" (-150 THB)

    Location: Sairee
    Small restaurant with a wide choice of Thai specialties. The Chile is one of the rare restaurants in Koh Tao offer some dishes typical of the region of Issan (northeast of the Thailand region). Located in the village of Sairee and open recently, you go to the Chile for the food very pleasant staff and its prices.

    Tik (-150 THB)

    Location: Sairee
    Small restaurant Thai a little away from the traffic. Friendly atmosphere. The food is not left. If you prefer their flat Thai dear away, there are also Western food. TIK is located in the street that goes from the town of Sairee to Asia Diver. When you leave the village, is on your left.

    Nest's Kitchen (-150 THB)

    Location: Sairee
    Located at nearly opposite Tik, you love nest's Kitchen for these small breakfast and Thai food. You eat sat in tailor on cousins. Free access to Internet WiFi in fact the benchmark of those who start their day by checking their e-mail while in a small lunch... and that resides on Sairee. Intimate location and Nice staff.

    Bambam (-100 THB)

    Location: Lae Haad
    The Bambam is the small traditional Thai restaurant. Are accessed from the port by spinning to the South, arrived at the drop Zone bar, Mount Street left and you will find the Bambam 100 metres on your right. You will also find the restaurant Yang in the same vein and next door.

    Selection: Kitchen international

    BBQ Korean to the Golden (-150 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Mae Haad
    Discover the Golden restaurant Korean BBQ. Located on the main road from Mae Haad to Chalook, on the right halfway. It is an open buffet for less than 100 THB. Attention, here we paid what remains if we do not eat everything! If you do not know this specialty is the time. Fish, meat, shrimp, egg, vegetable, is all about barbecue that looks like a flying saucer. A treat!

    Cafe del Sol (-250 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Mae Haad
    Crescent, wand, Ricard, tartare... If these words inspire you, that is the Café del Sol that is needed. For more than 10 years Robert satisfies tourists and expat' by lack of French food. Good price, good dish, but also good plan. Robert welcomes you and provides information. Then if disembark you at Koh Tao a little lost, be aware that the Café del Sol is located just off the port, in descending Mae Haad Street)see the plan)

    Selection: Dream Decor

    OK II Bungalow (-150 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Location: Southern tip of Chalook
    Restaurant and also appears. OK II is based on the cliff giving a superb view of Shark Bay and Shark Island. Good food but it is especially the view that attracts us. To access, always spinning South from the main road of Koh Tao. You'll find it.

    Dursit Bunchat Restaurant (-300 THB)

    Location: Northern tip of Sairee
    Single view of Koh Nang Yuan. To go simple, always head to the North when you are on the main road of Koh Tao. The menu prices are among the highest of Koh Tao due to the location and the presence of the spring, but they remain accessible for us Westerners. Then it benefits at least once to get pleasure. Almost impeccable service and the quality of the food is not left. A good time to pass.

    Stop Miss tips Follow us (be it you please)
    or share this page with your friends (Because you love them)
    Your comments
    Anthony of Lyon.

    Anonymous
    On 11 oct. 2011 06:36 Anthony of Lyon. said:
    Hello, first congratulations for your site.
    Information, the Cafe del sol is indeed the benchmarks of francophone, but if any one want flat super dun of dough or pizza, I recommend La Dolce Vita, in the same street, 100 m high. CSTA really class, super clean, Chief Italian.. .ca deserves the detour! Is a little more expensive but a family or couple cest Koh Tao restaurant.
    Ciao
    This message has been 2 answers on the forum. See the answers on the forum
     Write a comment
    Title:
    Message:
    Nickname: (mandatory)
    Email: (Compulsory, allows you to be notified of new messages)
    Anti-spam: (Required) In this mysterious box enter: how much is two times two (answer number)!
     





    Currently 62 visitors online.

    Latest Weather Points

    03 Jan. Weather point on Koh Samui to January 3, 2018...

    Most


    Search KohTaoZone

    Custom Search

    Agenda / Event

    29 may (J-6)
    Visakha Bucha (férié)
    May 30 (J-7)
    Full Moon Party
    June 27 (J-35)
    Full Moon Party
    27 Jul. (J-65)
    Asalha bucha day (holiday)
    28 Jul. (J-66)
    Khao Phansa (holiday)

    News
    By the One in Koh Tao

    15 Jul. Koh Tao imposes on professionals to treat their water...
    14 Jul. Towards the elimination of waste and safety...
    09 Jul. (1) An official hospital opens in Koh Tao...
    May 23 Training of SSI to Koh Tao diving instructor...
    26 March (2) Tao Festival 2017: A green festival...
    May 28 Koh Tao sur Google Street View...
    21 Feb. Jean Dujardin at Koh Tao for Brice de Nice 3...
    23 April (1) Koh Tao: 5th most beautiful island in the world and 1st ASI...
    24 Dec. (1) A diver died struck by a propeller...
    26 nov. 1 of the year 2015 to Koh Tao with The Experience Festiva...

    The Forum

    15 March (6) More Koh tao freedom! The beaches are paid
    31 March (1) dirt from water to Tao
    26 March (3) Council for diving
    03 March (15) Attacked by a Titan Triggerfish fish in Koh Tao
    May 20 New software XEvil 4.0 recognize of captchas Google, Facebook, Captcha.Com, SolveMedia, Bing
    May 15 There are 266!
    08 may EssayErudite.com write my essay .
    March 11 vacation to koh tao
    08 sept. (29) tourists flee koh tao because of dirt
    17 Feb. (2) Noise has Sairee
    01 March A nice video all fresh of koh tao
    25 April (20) price long tail boat on the day
    15 Feb. To know more?
    16 Jul. (9) Scam scooter in Koh Tao: minimize risk
    09 Feb. not so environmentally friendly...
    27 Jan. (24) Book or not?
    07 Jan. Manicure Pedicure
    04 Jan. Lomprayah travel
    03 Jan. Lomprayah travel
    26 Dec. France - A Dream Home

    "Go to the forum

Koh Tao en Thaïlande par KohTaoZone le 1er Guide en français sur Koh Tao, plongée, actualités, infos et guide pratiques sur l'île, hotel, comparateur de prix, et plus encore...

Restez informé | | | |
Vous êtes ici : > > Restaurants

Restaurant à Koh Tao : Où aller manger ?

Les restaurants de Koh Tao...

  • Coquillage, crustacé et Pad Thaï
  • La culture et la table
  • Petits ennuis et comment y remédier
  • Boycotter ceux qui servent du requin
  • Coquillage, crustacé et Pad Thaï

    Manger les pieds dans le sable à la lueur des lampions, trouver une petite gargote typique avec de la bonne nourriture Thaï à pas cher, trouver une restaurant gastronomique ou même trouve un restaurant qui propose Internet en Wifi pour prendre sont petit déjeuné en checkant ses e-mail, voilà ce que nous proposons dans notre sélection de restaurant à Koh Tao.

    Koh Tao est une île donc vous trouverez des produits de la mer sur quasiment toutes les cartes des menus. Les plats traditionnels Thaï sont aussi au rendez-vous ainsi que de la nourriture occidental qui fait partie de quasiment toutes les cartes de l'île. On notera qu'on trouve aussi des pizzerias et des restaurants tenus par des Français expatrié à Koh Tao.

    Certains disent qu'à Koh Tao il est difficile de trouver des bons restaurants. Ceux qui recherche l'authenticité de la nourriture Thaï se rendront compte que les chefs cuisinier ne sont parfois par Thaïlandais, ceux qui veulent simplement de la nourriture européen se feront parfois servir des toasts lorsqu'ils commandent du pain perdu.. et ceux qui souhaitent simplement une bonne pizza s'apercevront parfois que ça n'est pas parce qu'un restaurant fait beaucoup de pizza qu'il les faits bien. Pas de panique, on va tout vous expliquer pour éviter les mauvaises surprises.

    La Culture de la table

    Si la nourriture Thaïlandais peut s'avérer excellent même dans de petits restaurants, les Thaïlandais ne sont apparemment pas encore des experts en formation hôtelière et en restauration ou en tout cas, ils n'ont pas les mêmes réflexes que chez nous. C'est culturel. Aussi le développement de Koh Tao est encore récent et trouver des serveurs irréprochables n'est pas chose facile. Mais ça fait partie du folklore local, et certaines différences culturelles prêtent plus à sourire qu'autres choses.

    Les petits ennuis au restaurant et comment y remédier

    Manger dans un restaurant à Koh Tao et en Thaïlande en général, peut parfois être un peu déroutant surtout pour nous autres Français qui parlons anglais comme des vaches espagnoles. Voici une liste de petits ennuis rencontrés au restaurant et comment y faire face.
    On ne me sert pas ce que j'ai commandé : On ne compte plus les fois où ça nous est arrivé au restaurant et avec l'habitude je me suis retrouvé de nombreuse fois à devoir jouer les interprètes culinaires. En fait c'est l'inversé qui serait parfois étonnant. Les Français parlent généralement mal anglais, et si vous parlez anglais avec un accent trop "bon", alors ce sont les Thaï qui risquent de ne plus vous comprendre. Si vous vous rendez compte que la communication passe mal, n'hésitez pas à leur faire voir ce que vous voulez commander directement sur le menu. Les plats sont aussi parfois numéroté alors vous pouvez utilisé directement les numéros pour communiquer.

    On me sert du vin rouge au lieu du vin blanc (ou inversement) : Si vous demandez en anglais du "red wine" vous pouvez vous retrouver avec du "white wine". C'est un problème d'accentuation car les Thaï prononces "red" à peu près comme "white". Une seule solution, montrez le menu au serveur(euse) car même si vous essayez de le dire en Thaï avec un guide en poche, vous vous rendrez compte qu'à Koh Tao dans les restaurants les serveurs ne sont souvent pas Thaï.

    Ils ont noyé mon pastis : Pour les amateurs d'apéritifs anisés, vous serez ravis en découvrant que les Thaï importent parfois du Ricard ou du Pastis de chez nous. Et vous serez peut-être contrarié en voyant qu'ils vous le noie parfois. On appel ça l'ascenseur émotionnel. En fait ça n'est pas trop étrange. Si on vous demande de servir un Raki, sauriez-vous dire la quantité d'eau à mettre pour un Turc ? C'est un peut le même principe ici. Donc si certains commencent à être habitué de certaines de nos habitudes franco-française, méfiance lorsque vous prenez un Ricard ou un Pastis (avec modération).

    On me sert le plat de résistance avant l'entré (ou en même temps) : Les Thaï n'ont pas trop de notion de plat résistance ou d'entrée. Culturellement ils ont plutôt l'habitude d'avoir tout les plats en même temps. Cette habitude peut se retrouver au restaurant. Précisez donc bien si vous souhaitez des "starter" (entrée) qu'ils devront vous servir avant tout autres plat. De même si vous commandez tout en même temps dans un repas, il se peut que les apéritifs vous soit servir en même temps que l'entrée et le plat de résistance. L'astuce consiste à commander d'abord les apéritifs puis à faire comprendre au serveur que le temps qu'ils vous les servent, vous allez réfléchir à votre menu. Quoi qu'il en soit, si vous souhaitez un ordre de service, faites-le savoir clairement.

    Le services est trop lent ou trop rapide, les plats ne viennent pas en même temps : Nous n'avons pas vraiment d'astuce pour ce problème. Disons qu'on s'y fait. Certains chefs cuisiniers n'ont pas les mêmes techniques de synchronisation que chez nous. Que vous preniez votre apéritif en même temps que votre voisin de gauche prend son entrée, et que votre voisin de droite prend son plat de résistance ne pose pas de problème à certains restaurants. Mais bon.. globalement ca reste acceptable. Gardez le sourire, vous êtes en vacances :)

    Boycotter ceux qui servent du requin

    A kohtaozone nous vous encourageons à boycotter les restaurants qui servent du requin dans leur menu. Les requins sont en voie d'extinction. Dans notre sélection nous avons choisi seulement des restaurants ne proposant pas de requin, en tout cas lors de notre dernier passage chez eux.

    Notre sélection bonne table 2011
    (en cours de finition...)

  • Sélection : Cuisine Thaïlandaise (manger pas cher)
  • Sélection : Cuisine Internationale
  • Sélection : Décors de rêve
  • Sélection : Cuisine Thaïlandaises

    Le "Chili" (-150 THB)

    Localisation : Sairee
    Petit restaurant avec un large choix de spécialités Thaï. Le Chili est un des rares restaurants de Koh Tao à proposer certains plats typiques de la région Issan (région du nord-est de la Thaïlande). Situé dans le bourg de Sairee et ouvert depuis peu, on va au Chili autant pour la nourriture que le personnel très agréable et ses prix.

    Tik (-150 THB)

    Localisation : Sairee
    Petit restaurant Thaï un peu à l'écart du trafic. Ambiance conviviale. La nourriture n'est pas en reste. Si l'on préfère leurs plats Thaï à pas cher, on y trouve aussi de la nourriture occidentale. Tik se trouve dans la rue qui va du bourg de Sairee à Asia Diver. Quand vous partez du bourg, c'est sur votre gauche.

    Nid's Kitchen (-150 THB)

    Localisation : Sairee
    Situé à peu près en face de Tik, on aime Nid's Kitchen pour ces petits déjeuner et sa nourriture Thaï. On y mange assit en tailleur sur des cousins. Son accès gratuit à Internet en wifi en fait le repère de ceux qui commencent leur journée en consultant leur e-mail tout en petit déjeunant... et qui réside sur Sairee. Endroit intime et staff sympa.

    Le Bambam (-100 THB)

    Localisation : Lae Haad
    Le Bambam c'est le petit restaurant Thaï traditionnel. On y accède depuis le port en filant vers le sud, arrivé au drop Zone bar, monter la rue à gauche et vous trouverez le Bambam à 100 mètres sur votre droite. Vous trouverez aussi le restaurant Yang dans la même veine et juste à côté.

    Sélection : Cuisine Internationales

    Barbecue Coréen au Golden (-150 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Mae Haad
    Découvrez le barbecue Coréen du restaurant le Golden. Situé sur la route principale qui va de Mae Haad à Chalook, sur la droite à mi chemin. C'est un buffet à volonté pour moins de 100 THB. Attention, ici on paye ce qui reste si on ne mange pas tout ! Si vous ne connaissez pas cette spécialité c'est le moment. Poisson, viande, crevette, oeuf, légume, on met tout sur le barbecue qui ressemble à une soucoupe volante. Un régal !

    Cafe del Sol (-250 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Mae Haad
    Croissant, baguette, Ricard, tartare... si ces quelques mots vous inspirent, c'est au Café del Sol qu'il faut aller. Depuis plus de 10 ans Robert rassasie touristes et expat' en manque de nourriture française. Bon prix, bon plat, mais aussi bon plan. Robert vous accueille et vous renseigne. Alors si vous débarquer à Koh Tao un peu perdu, sachez que le Café del Sol se trouve tout près du port, dans la rue descendante de Mae Haad (voir le plan).

    Sélection : Décors de rêve

    Le OK II Bungalow (-150 THB)

    Koh Tao 13920Localisation : Pointe sud de Chalook
    Restaurant et aussi ressort. OK II est adossé à la falaise donnant une vue superbe sur Shark Bay et Shark Island. Bonne nourriture mais c'est surtout la vue qui nous attire. Pour y accéder, filer toujours vers le sud à partir de la route principal de Koh Tao. Vous tomberez dessus.

    Dursit Bunchat Restaurant (-300 THB)

    Localisation : Pointe nord de Sairee
    Vue unique sur Koh Nang Yuan. Pour y aller c'est simple, filez toujours vers le nord lorsque vous êtes sur la route principale de Koh Tao. Les tarifs au menu sont parmi les plus élevés de Koh Tao dû à la localisation et à la prestance du ressort, mais ils restent accessibles pour nous autres occidentaux. Alors on en profite au moins une fois pour se faire plaisir. Service quasi irréprochable et la qualité de la nourriture n'est pas en reste. Un bon moment à passer.

    Arrête de louper les bons plans Suis-nous (Et tu likes, et tu likes)
    ou Partage cette page avec tes amis (Parce que tu les aimes)
    Vos Commentaires
    Anthony de Lyon.

    Utilisateur anonyme
    Le 11 oct. 2011 06:36 Anthony de Lyon. à dit :
    bonjour , tout dabord felicitations pour votre site.
    Une info , le Cafe del sol est effectivement le repere des francophones , mais si quelqu un a envie dun super plat de pate ou pizza , je recommende Dolce Vita , dans la meme rue , 100 m plus haut. Cest vraiment la classe , super propre , Chef Italien ...ca merite le detour !!! Cest un peu plus cher mais en famille ou en couple cest Le resto de Koh Tao.
    ciao
    Ce message a reçu 2 réponses sur le forum. Voir les réponses sur le forum
     Ecrire un commentaire
    Titre :
    Message :
    Pseudo : (Obligatoire)
    Email : (Obligatoire, vous permet d'être averti des nouveaux messages)
    Anti-spam : (Obligatoire) Dans cette case mystèrieuse indiquez : Combien font deux fois deux (répondre en chiffre) !
     





    Actuellement 72 visiteurs en ligne.

    Derniers Points Météo

    31 juil. Point météo sur Koh Samui au 31 juillet 2017...

    L'essentiel


    Rechercher sur KohTaoZone

    Recherche personnalisée

    Agenda / Evénement

    05 sept. (J-14)
    Full Moon Party
    05 oct. (J-44)
    Awk Phansa
    06 oct. (J-45)
    Full Moon Party
    23 oct. (J-62)
    Jour de Chulalongkorn (férié)
    03 nov. (J-73)
    Loy Kratong 2017

    Actualités
    A la Une sur Koh Tao

    15 juil. Koh Tao impose aux professionnels de traiter leurs eaux...
    14 juil. Vers l'élimination des déchets et plus de sécurité...
    09 juil. Un hôpital officiel ouvre à Koh Tao...
    23 mai Formation d'instructeur de plongée SSI à Koh Tao...
    26 mars Tao Festival 2017 : Un festival écologique...
    28 mai Koh Tao sur Google Street View...
    21 févr. Jean Dujardin à Koh Tao pour Brice de Nice 3...
    23 avril (1) Koh Tao : 5ème plus belle île au monde et 1ère d'Asi...
    24 déc. (1) Une plongeuse meurt frappée par une hélice...
    26 nov. 1er de l'an 2015 à Koh Tao avec The Experience Festiva...

    Dans le Forum

    22 août Retour rapide de mon ex
    22 août Retour rapide de mon ex
    22 août Retour rapide de mon ex
    18 août
    05 août (8) 65 clubs de plongee
    26 juin (6) Billets lomprayah : réserver par Internet ou pas
    29 juil. Compagnie Songserm à eviter
    08 sept. (26) les touristes fuient koh tao a cause de la saleté
    06 juil. Location kohtao
    06 juil. Chang Mai à Koh Tao
    03 juil. Réservation du billet combien de temps à l avance
    03 juil. Location kohtao
    15 févr. (2) Sairee, vraiment bruyant et bondée en aout ?
    30 juin encore un crime?
    22 nov. (20) Bungalow sur la plage les pieds dans l'eau à Koh Tao
    05 sept. (5) Arnaque Songserm
    04 mars (1) alerte disparition
    27 janv. (23) Réserver ou pas ?
    14 janv. (8) koh tao ile pour backpackers seulement ?
    28 janv. (1) + de 200 hotels

    » Aller dans le forum...